March meeting & New Triathlete Program info session

Get your race season started right at our March club meeting. If you are new to the club and triathlon, this is a great opportunity to meet current members and potential mentors.

Date: Tuesday, March 24 at 7:00pm in EDT
Venue Twenty20 Cycling. in Hampden.
Presentation:  Is Your Bike Ready for Race Season? Tips and Tricks
Presentation:  New Triathlon Program
Raffle:  XTERRA wetsuit. Small print: To win, you must be present and you must be a club member (registration is available at the meeting).


New Board of Directors

At the January 21, 2015 meeting the general membership of the Baltimore Area Triathlon Club elected the 2015 Board of Directors.  The results of the election are:

President – Linda Anders
Secretary – Kate Braband
Treasurer – Luke Smith
Group Workout Director – Jae Sly
Member At-Large – Scott Anthony
Member At-Large – Julia McTighe
Member At-Large – Joe O’Bruba
Member At-Large – Fernando Pineda

We would like to thank the out-going board members for their many hours and great effort put towards BATC in 2014 (for some, many years prior to that).

Continuing President ­ – Linda Anders
Continuing Secretary ­ – Kate Braband
Continuing Treasurer ­ – Luke Smith
Outgoing Group Workout Director ­ – Darrell Walker
Outgoing Member At-Large – ­ Patricia Cummings
Outgoing Member At-Large – ­ Jae Sly
Outgoing Member At-Large ­ – John Heuisler
Outgoing Member At-Large ­ – Melissa Otterbien

The new board will begin planning the 2015 club schedule and events, and will be rolling out information to the club in the next few weeks.

Warm Regards,
Kate Braband
BATC Secretary

Club meeting and elections

The 2015 Annual Meeting and Board of Directors Election will be held at 7:00 at the Falls Road Running Store. We are still accepting nominations for the 8 board positions. All nominees must renew/join BATC for the 2015 membership year.

Nominations received as of this afternoon are listed below for each of the board positions. Nominations will also be taken from the floor at the time of elections. All nominees must be 2015 members in good standing (i.e., paid registered members). Registration and payment ($35) should be made prior to the election, and cash, check, VISA/Mastercard will be accepted. Register at

executive committee

President – This person represents the club to the community, and will assist in promoting the club to potential members, race organizers, potential club sponsors, other local clubs.
Nominee(s): Linda Anders

Secretary – This person corresponds with club members regarding club and board meetings, takes official minutes, ensures the plans for the club are acted upon, and fills in during the absence of the president.
Nominee(s): Kate Braband

Treasurer – This person is responsible for depositing club dues and other revenues, making club payments based on approved expenditures, record keeping of all transactions, maintaining the club bank, PayPal, and Square accounts, preparing quarterly treasurer reports, and filing annual taxes with the IRS.
Nominee(s): Luke Smith

Group Workout Director – This person is responsible for preparing the annual club group workout calendar, organizing and promoting the events, providing cue sheets for group rides, ensuring the club activity has a an assigned leader, and provides for post workout refreshments (such as water, energy drinks, and other such items) whenever feasible.
Nominee(s): Jae Sly

Four Member-at-large  board members assist with the management of the club by engaging in special projects, such as the New Triathlete Program and mentors, annual BATC gear design and order, race supports (think tents and race refreshments), volunteer coordination, organizing club members participating in local events, website management and design, email communication, and other social media outreach to members and future members.

Nominee(s): Julia McTighe, Joe O’Bruba, Linda Anders, Kate Braband